top of page

4) El Shaddai

Updated: Mar 14, 2021

Genesis 35:11 (ESV) And God said to him, “I am God Almighty: be fruitful and multiply. A nation and a company of nations shall come from you, and kings shall come from your own body.

I confess, it was difficult for me to squeeze juice out of this verse and even after reading the surrounding chapters, it was not easy to draw a route to El Shaddai. It was more like a meandering path through the woods, up hills, down valleys, over the creeks, into dark caves, and across hot sand. There is so much DRAMA going on in Jacob's life! Did you find his life to be a soap opera as I did? Let me encourage you this week to find more time to read more than usual (Jacob's life begins in Genesis 25:22). I also encourage you to talk about what you've read. I had nothing to write down until after I talked about what I had read. I was discussing Jacob's life and explaining the origins of the name El Shaddai to Rex when my brain made a connection.


"Shaddai" (Strong's H7706) comes from the root word "sadad" (Strong's H7703) meaning to spoil, devastate, destroy, deal violently; strong in a negative sense. Of course our El Shaddai is strong and all-powerful in a benevolent sense! With this in mind, consider Jacob: the little brother who preferred being a mama's boy at home, the love-struck young man who was taken advantage of by his uncle, the husband who gave in to his competing sister wives, the prosperous shepherd who feared his jealous brothers-in-law, the head of household who felt he had to secretly sneak his entire family away from his father-in-law, the man fearing his brother's revenge, the father who did not protect his daughter, the man who stopped short of the destination God commanded him to go, the family leader who allowed idols into his home. This man Jacob had some timid and passive tendencies despite having an all-powerful God specifically talk to him and reassure him all along. Now we reach Genesis 35:11, where God declares, "I am God Almighty" (El Shaddai) as He reminds Jacob of the promise made to him years ago. It is almost as though God is verbally "flexing His muscle" to tell Jacob not to fear moving forward.


I find myself relating to Jacob's tendencies... it is easier for me to take the easy road, the back seat, just go along for the ride, don't make waves. But with an all-powerful God by my side? What do I need to fear? There are times when I am called to step forward in faith and courage but how to battle my timid tendencies? I need to trust El Shaddai is with me and believe in His promises.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page