top of page

12: God's Goodness at the Table / Share the Feast


Beholding...

Anyone grow up eating Hamburger Helper like I did? Sounds gross now, but I used to love it! Since my mom usually cooked Chinese meals, on the rare occasions she would deviate and make something different like Hamburger Helper (cheeseburger flavor), my sisters and I relished it like it was gourmet. I know, it seems crazy that I would prefer Hamburger Helper over an authentic homemade Chinese meal made from scratch. The author compares her story of cooking out of a box then expanding her culinary skills, to our spiritual diet. The Israelites witnessed their loving God miraculously providing daily food to sustain them in the desert, yet they still longed for Egypt. God parted the Red Sea, He rescued them from slavery, yet they continued to have trouble trusting Him to meet their needs. "We miss the provision when we don't behold the Provider" (page 161). Are we reaching for boxed/fast food when there is a gourmet feast awaiting us at the Lord's Table? "Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him" (Psalm 34:8).


Becoming...

While we are using a food metaphor in this chapter, the practical section here is about hospitality. Hospitality was a central aspect in Jesus' ministry on earth. I mentioned last week that Rex and I have been watching The Chosen series ( https://studios.vidangel.com/the-chosen or search on Youtube) and when you watch it, you will see settings where Jesus met in homes, gathering around a campfire, attending a wedding in Cana. The Gospel message was preached and there was also someone around to be hospitable. I know I'm preaching to the choir since our FBC ladies are so gifted at hospitality -- whether in your home, at church, or through your welcoming spirit. Can I be bold enough to say that I think you've got this one down! Let's make sure our hospitality also offers Jesus.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page