top of page

1: God's Greatness in Creation / It's Okay to Be Small

Updated: Oct 24, 2020



Beholding...

I love the encouragement on page 17 that reminds me that it's not too late to redirect my mind and heart as Job did. No matter how long I've been distracted by being "the queen of my dominion," in a blink, I can return my gaze upon our Creator and praise Him. What is your favorite part of creation that points to God's greatness?


Becoming...

I think it's often easier to behold than to become. Beholding is looking, which doesn't seem to require as much effort. Becoming on the other hand, means transforming which does require effort and it also takes time. This summer, the oaks in our area have been defoliated by oak worms. After devouring leaves, the small worms (caterpillars) each dangle on a silk in order to drop to the ground to find a place to attach and become a pupa. As they dangle, the worms are easily spotted and vulnerable. Once in their pupa stage, they are camouflaged and not noticed. This week, the successful pupae have emerged from their cocoons and swarms of moths have invaded my yard. Thinking back to the stages of this moth's transformation, it had faced obstacles in order to survive. The ones who made it escaped being eaten by birds or destroyed by annoyed homeowners. They were the ones out of my reach, the ones birds could not see, the ones when as pupae were securely fastened to withstand the elements. In our own becoming, we often face obstacles. Are you dangling by a silk thread or securely fastened in order to become what God intended?

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page